Executive Committee Liquidated as of 1 May 2016

Bill Shipsey, SC, former Chairman, Vereffenaar
A barrister, former Chairperson of the Irish Section of Amnesty International, and a former member of the International Executive Committee of Amnesty International. He is the founder of Art for Amnesty – Amnesty International´s global artist engagement programme. Bill Shipsey is in charge of settlement of the liquidation of the IHJR.

For questions, please contact info@ihjr.org.

Former members of the Executive Committee included:

Richard Goldstone
Co-Chairman of the Human Rights Institute of the International Bar Association and former justice of the Constitutional Court of South Africa. Former Chief Prosecutor of the United Nations International Criminal Tribunals for Rwanda and the former Yugoslavia.

Laurens-Jan Brinkhorst, Vice-chairman
Professor of International and European Law and Public Administration, University of Leiden. Former posts include Vice- Prime Minister of the Netherlands, Minister of Economic Affairs and Minister of Agriculture, Nature Management and Fisheries, and EU Ambassador to Japan.

Mark Ellis
Executive Director of the International Bar Association and former Executive Director of the  ABA Central and East European Law Initiative (CEELI). Served as Legal Advisor to the Independent International Commission on Kosovo.

Timothy Ryback
Co-founder of the IHJR, and Deputy Secretary-General and Director of Programs of the Académie Diplomatique Internationale in Paris. Former Vice President and resident Director of the Salzburg Global Seminar, Salzburg, Austria.


The Institute for Historical Justice and Reconciliation (IHJR) works with educational and public policy institutions to organize and sponsor historical discourse in pursuit of acknowledgement, and the resolution of historical disputes. Founded in 2004, the Institute for Historical Justice and Reconciliation (IHJR) is an independent, nonprofit institution based in Leiden.